Mother’s Day Edition: My Favorite Cartoon Moms

In honor of Mother’s Day, I thought I’d mention a couple of my favorite cartoon moms.

Lois Foutley with her kids, Carl and Ginger Screencap by me

Lois Foutley with her kids, Carl and Ginger
Screencap by me

Lois Foutley, the mother of Ginger from Nickelodeon’s “As Told by Ginger” is undoubtedly my favorite cartoon mom.  She’s a single mom who exudes strength, wisdom, and warmth.  This piece of advice she gives to her daughter makes me want to burst into tears every time I hear it:

You know, we’re not put on this earth to live perfect lives where we never get hurt and we never make mistakes.  We’re put here to hurl ourselves head first into this crazy world.  And the bruises and scrapes you get along the way, they just mean you’re living life.

Marge Simpson is an icon.  I adore her for being unabashedly corny and uncool.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

